Don’t Make 2017 Another 2016

Another year is coming to an end. 2016 hasn’t been the best year for me, but I can’t complain because when I look around at the world, my problems are nothing compared to what other people have endured. If I died tomorrow I would die poor, but comfortable with a roof over my head and in safety. While I have watched safely from my home as other countries have been torn apart by war and terrorism. I watched refugees flee for their lives, entire cities under siege, their citizens starving. Occupations, murder, and destruction of historical monuments and relics.
And in my own country, I watched as hate speech increased. Anger spread and acts of violence became a common theme to see on the news every night. Everyone was on edge because of the elections, and still are afraid because we don’t know what the future will bring, we were divided and still are. 

The problems of 2016 aren’t going to go away just because a new year is coming. As much as I would like to snap my fingers and make it all better, I can’t. Each one of us is only responsible for ourselves and our own actions, and by the way we act we influence others. Let’s make a conscious effort this coming year to do our best to have respect for others and treat them the way we want to be treated, we are no better than anyone else. We don’t need another 2016. 

Leave a Reply

