The Slow Life

image

It’s been a year since I moved to the country. I found out quickly living in the country was an entirely different life than living in the city. The first night here I was struck by the silence. No noise of any kind. No machines whirring, no nightly trains going past. No noise from cars or sirens, no dogs barking or cats meowing. The only sound was nature. Frogs and crickets chirping, the wind rustling through the trees. There being no city lights or street lights, I could see the night sky aglow with more stars than I had ever seen before. A band of the Milky Way stretching across the sky, and shooting stars gave it a feeling of mystery and magic!

Having lived in the city in the same 5 mile radius my entire life, I was accustomed to quick trips to the store right around the block. Everything was within walking distance, or a very short drive. If I didn’t feel like cooking, a restaurant was always nearby. We had city water and city sewage. All these things I took for granted never realizing how much easier life was with them.

Upon moving to the country I found there would be no more quick trips to the store. No restaurants anywhere nearby, and none to deliver this far out. If we brought dinner home it would be cold. Frozen items from the store would be warm by the time we made it home. City water doesn’t flow this way. Instead we have wells. The local electric company won’t service our area so we had to join an electric co-op. Turns out the electric co-op is cheaper, and well water is not that bad; plus it’s pretty nice not getting a water bill.

Nature itself has proven to be the biggest obstacle of our new country life. Bears and foxes make straying too close to the woods at night a really bad idea. Caution is needed when driving at night because of deer crossing the road.  With no street lights, and fields and woods all around, they tend to sneak up on you. Alligators are nearby as well though I haven’t seen one yet. When it rains the yard becomes a swamp. With lots of woods there are often downed trees. When it snows our roads are plowed last. Kind farmers hitch plows to their machines and do what they can until the city plows get to our roads. In the summer dragon flies seem to have a dragon fly party, swarming and flying into anything, including the sides of the house; and people if they’re brave enough to be outside with the dragon flies. My vegetable garden is never safe from hungry animals. Also there are REALLY big snakes.

When house hunting our main priority was a yard. I wanted room for a garden, and room for the kids to play. We never intended to move so far out, but when I saw the picture of the yard I fell in love. A day later we were signing papers.  Now we live the slow life and despite its downsides there is nothing like sitting on your porch watching meteor showers or watching the trees change colors in the fall. Without a doubt it has been the best year of my life.

One thought on “The Slow Life

  1. I agree, there’s always a lot going on in a city and your senses get overwhelmed. Seems my focus was always on work, pay raises, and what new thing I could buy. City living with all its distractions is like being a hamster on a wheel. Everybody’s going through the motions and nobody really understands why. I think your move to the country was a remedy for something you didn’t even know you had; a need to stop and smell the roses. Kick-back and enjoy; it’s a wonderful world.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

